New College Helmets for the 2012 season

This page is intended to contain new "full-time" helmet designs for American and Canadian college football teams for the 2012 season (including both "home" and "away" helmets for teams using two main designs, but not including "occasional use" helmets). For the purpose of this page, I will consider any "full-time" helmet design that was not in use during the 2011 season to be a "new" one for 2012, even if the design was previously used in 2010 or earlier. Please let me know if you are aware of any other new designs, even if you are unable to provide the necessary information to enable me to draw the helmet. I had considered discontinuing this page for the 2012 season due to the increasingly large number of new designs and the initial uncertainty about whether any particular new design is a "full-time" design, but I have decided to attempt to maintain it for at least one more season.

"Slots" will be created for those new helmets of which I am aware, but for which I have not received sufficient information to add them to the web site.

Early-season "blank" helmets (ones without logo decals) are sometimes an indication of a "decals-were-not-in-yet" situation - it is worth monitoring teams using such helmets for the possible addition of decals later in the season (actually this comment applies to all teams, as some will also make mid-season changes such as adding or dropping helmet stripes).

NCAA Division I- Football Bowl Subdivision

Minnesota Utah State Utah State
Missouri Rutgers (home) Rutgers (away)
UNLV Texas A&M Texas A&M
Nevada Houston Maryland
San Jose State Massachusetts UAB
Florida Atlantic San Diego State Fresno State
New Mexico Air Force Mississippi State

NCAA Division I- Football Championship Subdivision

North Dakota State Southern U. Western Carolina
St. Francis (PA) Weber State Eastern Illinois
Southern Illinois The Citadel Jacksonville
Fordham Wagner Western Illinois
Southeastern Louisiana Savannah State Youngstown State
Texas Southern Arkansas-Pine Bluff San Diego
Gardner-Webb Princeton Yale
Harvard Alcorn State

NCAA Division II

Emporia State (KS) South Dakota
School of Mines
Assumption (MA)
Tarleton State (TX) Ferris State (MI) Central Washington
West Virginia Wesleyan Missouri Southern State Mary (ND)
Millersville (PA) Minnesota-Crookston Charleston (WV)
Western Oregon Minot State (ND) North Alabama
West Alabama Adams State (CO) Colorado Mesa
Lock Haven (PA) Grand Valley State (MI) Central State (OH)
Saginaw Valley State (MI) Indiana (PA) Cheyney (PA)
Gannon (PA) Northern Michigan Ohio Dominican
Northwestern Oklahoma
Ouachita Baptist (AR) Western New Mexico
Lindenwood (MO) Wingate (NC) St. Augustine's (NC)
Central Oklahoma Southwest Baptist (MO) Lincoln (PA)
Clarion (PA) Kentucky Wesleyan Newberry (SC)
Delta State (MS) Kentucky State Fort Lewis (CO)
Oklahoma Panhandle

NCAA Division III

Averett (VA) McDaniel (MD) Grinnell (IA)
Wisconsin-Stevens Point Moravian (PA) Benedictine (IL)
Western Connecticut Muskingum (OH) Anderson (IN)
Eureka (IL) Hope (MI) Capital (OH)
North Park (IL) Catholic (DC) Willamette (OR)
Crown (MN) Defiance (OH) Mount St. Joseph (OH)
Delaware Valley (PA) Ohio Northern Franklin & Marshall
Maritime College (NY) Bluffton (OH)
Manchester (IN) Pacific Lutheran Illinois College
Frostburg State (MD) Gallaudet (DC) Lake Forest (IL)
W.P.I. (MA) Heidelberg (OH) Wisconsin-Stout
Kenyon (OH) Shenandoah (VA) Baldwin-Wallace (OH)
Washington & Jefferson (PA) Thiel (PA) Rochester (NY)
DePauw (IN) La Verne (CA)


Culver-Stockton (MO) U. of the Cumberlands (KY) Montana Tech
Avila (MO) Rocky Mountain (MT) Tabor (KS)
Faulkner (AL) Concordia (NE) Menlo (CA)
Pikeville (KY) Bethany (KS)

Unaffiliated college teams

Trinity Bible (ND) Virginia University-

Canada Interuniversity Sport

Sherbrooke (QC) Waterloo (ON)

Junior Colleges

Snow (UT) Iowa Western C.C. East Central C.C. (AL)
Dodge City C.C. (KS) Independence C.C. (KS) Pima C.C. (AZ)
Garden City C.C. (KS) Moorpark (CA) Santa Monica (CA)
American River (CA) Itawamba C.C. (MS) Southwest Mississippi C.C.
Cisco J.C. (TX) New Mexico Military
Phoenix (AZ)
Mesa (AZ) Tyler J.C. (TX) Yuba (CA)
College of the
Redwoods (CA)
Merced (CA) Arizona Western
Gavilan (CA) San Mateo (CA) San Jose C.C. (CA)
Chabot (CA) Santa Barbara C.C. (CA)